Can you “add enough” of anything to make gluten-free pasta good?

I recently had to go gluten free for health reasons. My immediate reaction was regret over all the wonderful food I would miss: pizza, pasta, bread, cake and cookies. Then I realized, thanks to my sister, there is a whole wide world of gluten-free goodies to take the place of the old standbys. Of top importance: the pasta.

Anchovy sauce tops regular pasta in happier times.

Gluten-free pasta is shockingly not bad, once you figure out the cooking time (hint: it’s not the time on the box). Since pasta is primarily a sauce delivery vehicle, there isn’t much of a taste difference as far as I have determined. And with that discovery, I officially replace my mother as “that relative” who has to have her own food at family celebrations.*

One key sauce for me to test with the pasta sans gluten is my mother’s anchovy sauce, which I learned to make this past Christmas for our Christmas Eve celebration.  The sauce is easy, if messy to make. Anchovies spit, even when they’re dead. But if you get past the oil burns on your hands and tomato paste stains on your shirt, the result is well worth the pain. Even if it tops gluten-free pasta.

*Rumor has it, even Pastosa makes gluten-free pastas, including their incredible, inimitable ravioli!

Leave a comment