On Cups and Sauces

Italian pot roast. Sounds simple, looks simple, but when a recipe upends your definition and understanding of what a cup is, it is anything but simple.

Lets start with what a cup is: 8 oz, a half pint. It’s Laura Ingalls Wilder in liquid form.

What a cup is not: less than or more than 8 oz.

That is unless you are my grandmother. Then it is that random tea cup that is the last one in existence and is just large/small enough to measure the right amount of tomato juice for your famous pot roast recipe.

Luckily, I knew this discrepancy going in, so my cup was a tea cup or about 6 oz. Thus the signature part of the dish–the macaroni sauce made from pan drippings and the tomato juice–was perfection.

The roast itself…lets just say it’s a good thing I made two pounds of pasta and that there was extra sauce. At least I learned my lesson for next time. Pull the roast before the thermometer says it’s done. Cooking 101 really. Meat continues to cook off the heat.

On the positive side, that roast was quite the ham. Look at the crust on that sucker.

One response to “On Cups and Sauces

  1. mmmm…now i’m hungry 🙂

Leave a comment